CHEFS 4 THE PLANET

THE GLOBAL INFORMATION AND SOLUTIONS NETWORK FOR SUSTAINABLE GASTRONOMY

THE GLOBAL INFORMATION AND SOLUTIONS NETWORK FOR SUSTAINABLE GASTRONOMY

Jean-Edern Hurstel

Position: Chef - Paris
Restaurant: EDERN

He turned to cooking out of passion. A sin of gluttony for this chef from a family of 7 children, is what lead him directly to the stars. Apprentice in Geneva to the chef Claude Legras (2 stars), “his second father” at the restaurant of the Parc des Eaux-Vives, he climbed these steps one by one. At Lucas Carton (3 stars) in Paris, he learnt alongside Alain Senderens the excellence and marriage of flavors. From Alain Passard to l’Arpège (3 stars), he gained respect for the product, the art of cooking and good matches.

A man of challenges, he left Paris for England. “A school of life”, he sums up, “perfect for humility and human relations”. Knocking at every door, he entered Gordon Ramsay’s Aubergine restaurant. Two stars later, and the experience he had gained, he returned home. At the Auberge de l’Ill, “3 stars” for 50 years, the Alsatian haute cuisine of chef Paul Haeberlin and his son Marc deeply influenced his style. The Alain Ducasse experience at the Louis XV of Monaco (3 stars), the “experience of the culture of taste and technical precision” followed.

2007 marked his international adventure. The destination was the Middle East, in Dubai, and one of the city’s monuments, the Jumeirah Emirates Towers Hotel. An emblem. A few months later, he landed his first chef job at Shangri-La Abu Dhabi. In 2010, the experience continued at the Jumeirah Zabeel Saray in Dubai. A huge challenge: managing 130 cooks of 20 different nationalities and opening 4 new restaurants. 3 years after his arrival, Jean Edern was crowned chef of the year by the Gourmet Abu Dhabi Festival.

In 2014, the opening of the new hotel The Peninsula in Paris was expected by the whole world. Called by the luxury hotel group, Jean-Edern leaves Dubai and becomes the youngest French chef to run the kitchens of a Parisian palace. A Top Chef parenthesis further on, we find Jean-Edern on Avenue Kléber. For this new challenge, he surrounded himself with a team of young chefs in the making. His objective: to offer the best refined and contemporary cuisine, with a focus on local products, those of French producers and those in season.

After 7 openings, Jean-Edern puts down his suitcases in his eponymous restaurant at the top of the Champs-Elysées in Paris.
Being creative but disruptive. Gastronomical but democratic. Jean-Edern embodies all this. A new vision of gastronomy. Inspired by simplicity and pure authenticity. A desire for relaxation.

• Anglais

CHEFS 4 THE PLANET

LE RÉSEAU MONDIAL D'INFORMATION ET DE SOLUTIONS POUR UNE GASTRONOMIE DURABLE

LE RÉSEAU MONDIAL D'INFORMATION ET DE SOLUTIONS POUR UNE GASTRONOMIE DURABLE

Jean-Edern Hurstel

Position: Chef - Paris
Restaurant: EDERN

Il s’est dirigé vers la cuisine par passion. Un péché de gourmandise pour ce chef issu d’une famille de 7 enfants, qui le conduira directement chez les étoilés. Apprenti à Genève du chef Claude Legras (2 étoiles), « son deuxième papa » au restaurant du Parc des Eaux-Vives, il gravit les marches une à une. Chez Lucas Carton (3 étoiles) à Paris, il apprend aux côtés d’Alain Senderens l’excellence et le mariage des saveurs. D’Alain Passard à l’Arpège (3 étoiles), il gagne le respect du produit, l’art de la cuisson et des bons accords.

Homme des défis, il quitte Paris pour l’Angleterre. « Une école de la vie », résume-t-il, « parfaite pour l’humilité et les relations humaines ». Frappant à toutes les portes, il rentre au restaurant l’Aubergine de Gordon Ramsay. 2 étoiles plus tard et l’expérience engrangée, retour au pays. A l’Auberge de l’Ill, « 3 étoiles » pendant 50 ans, la haute- cuisine alsacienne du chef Paul Haeberlin et de son fils Marc influence profondément son style. Suivra l’expérience Alain Ducasse au Louis XV de Monaco (3 étoiles), l’« expérience de la culture du goût et de la précision technique ».

2007 marque l’aventure à l’international. Destination le Moyen-Orient à Dubaï. Et l’un des monuments de la ville, le Jumeirah Emirates Towers Hotel. Un emblème. Quelques mois plus tard, il décroche un premier poste de chef au Shangri-La Abu Dhabi. En 2010, l’expérience se poursuit au Jumeirah Zabeel Saray de Dubaï. Un immense challenge : manager 130 cuisiniers aux 20 nationalités différentes et ouvrir 4 nouveaux restaurants. 3 ans après son arrivée, Jean Edern est sacré chef de l’année par le Festival Gourmet Abu Dhabi.

En 2014, l’ouverture du nouvel hôtel The Peninsula à Paris est attendue par le monde entier. Appelé par le groupe hôtelier de luxe, Jean-Edern quitte Dubaï et devient le plus jeune chef français à diriger les cuisines d’un palace parisien. Une parenthèse Top Chef plus loin et l’on retrouve Jean-Edern avenue Kléber. Pour ce nouveau pari, il s’entoure d’une équipe de jeunes chefs en devenir. Son objectif : offrir le meilleur d’une cuisine raffinée et contemporaine en privilégiant les produits de terroir, ceux des producteurs français et ceux de saison.

Après 7 ouvertures, Jean-Edern pose ses valises dans son restaurant éponyme en haut des Champs-Elysées à Paris.
Etre créatif mais disruptif. Gastronomique mais démocratique. Jean-Edern incarne tout cela. Une nouvelle vision de la gastronomie. Inspirée par la simplicité et l’authenticité pure. Une envie de décontraction.