• French

CHEFS 4 THE PLANET

THE GLOBAL INFORMATION AND SOLUTIONS NETWORK FOR SUSTAINABLE GASTRONOMY

THE GLOBAL INFORMATION AND SOLUTIONS NETWORK FOR SUSTAINABLE GASTRONOMY

Grégory Cohen

Position: Chef - Paris
: Hotel Bowmann

Being a committed and responsible cook means, for me, integrating the environmental impact into my daily routine, through energy and water control. For example in the kitchen we switched to induction hobs for saving energy (in the kitchen we usually leave the gas on non-stop), we have equipped all the water points with infrared systems which stops us from forgetting to turn off the water.

I work my products to the extreme, that is to say that I will extract the substances from the ingredients to cook them entirely; the peels of the vegetables will join the base of the broths …

This working of the product in full yields the fillets for the whole fish and a base of sauce with the heads and bones, as well as for the meats and bones.

I favor crops, livestock and fisheries based on a sustainable approach, because for me it is essential to be alert on global issues both at the ecosystem and human level.

The world has become a village in which we do our shopping, tapping into all its original products, its differences and its skills, and it is a good thing we must learn to become citizens of the world!

At the same time though, we must be alerted and take into account the environment of men and regions as well as the societal impact and the impact on our planet to preserve it as best as possible without losing sight of the fact that we are only passing through and that ahead of us are the generations to come….

• Anglais

CHEFS 4 THE PLANET

LE RÉSEAU MONDIAL D'INFORMATION ET DE SOLUTIONS POUR UNE GASTRONOMIE DURABLE

LE RÉSEAU MONDIAL D'INFORMATION ET DE SOLUTIONS POUR UNE GASTRONOMIE DURABLE

Grégory Cohen

Position: Chef - Paris
: Hotel Bowmann

Être un cuisinier engagé et responsable c’est, pour moi, intégrer l’impact environnementale dans mon métier au quotidien, au travers de la maîtrise de l’énergie et de l’eau par exemple dans les cuisine on est passé a l induction pour une économie d énergie (en cuisine on laisse d ordinaire le gaz allumé non stop), on a équipé tous les points d’eau de systèmes infrarouge qui permettent d’éviter d’oublier de fermer l’eau.

Je travail mes produits à l’extrême, c’est à dire que je vais extraire les substances des ingrédients pour les cuisiner en intégralité les pelures des légumes rejoindront la base des bouillons…

Ce travail du produit en intégralité donne pour le poisson entier les filets et un fond de sauce avec les têtes et arrêtes idem pour les viandes et os.

Je privilégie les cultures, élevages et pêches issues d’une approche durable, car pour moi il est essentiel d’être éveillé et alerté sur les problématiques planétaire tant au niveau de l’écosystème que de l’humain.

Le monde est devenu un village dans lequel nous faisons nos courses avec ses originalités, ses différences et ses savoirs faire, et c’est une bonne chose nous devons apprendre à devenir des citoyens de la terre !

Pour autant nous devons être alerté et prendre en compte l’environnement des hommes et des régions ainsi que l’impact sociétales et l’impact sur notre planète pour la préserver au mieux sans perdre de vue que nous ne sommes que de passage et qu’il y a derrière nous les générations à venir….